Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vote For Your Goal Of The Year

14 January 2014

Select your favourite strike from 2013

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2013.

And we want your help to decide which Pompey goal from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

Select your favourite from the following shortlist:

GOAL 1: Liam Walker v Scunthorpe (February 5) – Midfielder opened his Pompey account with a superb 30-yard free-kick into the top corner

GOAL 2: Shaun Cooper v Brentford (April 13) – Utility man turned neatly and drilled home a low shot from 25 yards

GOAL 3: Patrick Agyemang v Morecambe (August 17) – Striker curled home a fine finish off the inside of the post

GOAL 4: Jed Wallace v York (September 28) – Teenager broke from inside his own half and beat several opposition players before coolly sliding the ball home

GOAL 5: Patrick Agyemang v Oxford (October 8) – Striker picked the ball up out wide, cut inside and curled a shot into the bottom corner with the outside of his right foot

GOAL 6: Andy Barcham v Southend (November 26) – Winger cut inside and hammered home an unstoppable shot from the edge of the box

You can watch the goals here and vote for your favourite by emailing with ‘GOAL’ as the subject.

Alternatively, tweet your choice to @officialpompey, using the hashtag #PompeyGoal

Voting closes at 5pm on Tuesday, January 21.

The strike that receives the most votes will then be entered into the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the 2014 Football League awards.

A judging panel will review every side’s nominated goal and the top 10 will be shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on February 8.

Fans will be given the opportunity to whittle this down to a shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday, March 16.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year award Nottingham Forest’s Simon Cox (2012), Cardiff’s Peter Whittingham (2011), Oldham’s Dean Furman (2010), Bristol City’s Nicky Maynard (2009), Wolves’ Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (2008), Leeds’ Jermaine Beckford (2007), Cardiff’s Joe Ledley (2006) and Notts County’s Stefan Oakes (2005).

Click here to find out more about the Football League Awards.

Advertisement block