Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


27 January 2015

Pick your favourite Pompey strike

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2014.

And we want your help to decide which Pompey strike from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We have selected a shortlist of seven goals to choose from:

Goal 1: JAKE JERVIS v Accrington (H) – February 25
The striker cuts inside from the right and drills a low shot into the bottom corner to secure victory for Pompey.

Goal 2: JED WALLACE v Fleetwood (A) – March 15
A superb consolation strike for the Blues as Wallace beats several players before lashing home an unstoppable effort from the edge of the box.

Goal 3: MICHAEL DRENNAN v Dagenham & Redbridge (A) – April 12
The on-loan striker latches onto a long ball forward and fires a low volley into the bottom corner as Pompey rout the Daggers on their own patch.

Goal 4: JED WALLACE v Exeter (A) – August 9
The midfielder picks the ball up wide on the right, bursts into the box and arrows a shot into the far corner to secure an opening-day point.

Goal 5: JED WALLACE v Yeovil (A) – September 2
Wallace plays a neat one-two with Westcarr, takes a fine touch to deceive a defender and then fires home the first of his Johnstone’s Paint Trophy brace at League One Yeovil.

Goal 6: CRAIG WESTCARR v Yeovil (A) – September 2
The striker calmly takes down a brilliant chipped pass from Miles Storey before expertly lobbing the ball over Glovers keeper Chris Weale.

Goal 7: NIGEL ATANGANA v Cheltenham (A) – December 20
Whatmough bursts forward from just inside the opposition half to pick out the Frenchman, who launches a fine dipping strike that goes in off the underside of the crossbar.

Click here to watch all of the goals and decide which is your favourite.

To vote, email the number of your chosen goal to with the subject ‘Goal Vote’.

You can also tweet @officialpompey, using #Goal1, #Goal2, etc.

Voting closes at 9am on Monday, February 2.

The goal the receives the most votes will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the 2015 Football League Awards – the 10th anniversary of the event.

A judging panel will then review each club’s choice, with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM programme in March.

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for which goals make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday, April 19.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Franck Moussa (Coventry, 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest, 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff, 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham, 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City, 2009), Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolves, 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds, 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff, 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County, 2005).

Click here to find out more about the Football League Awards.

Advertisement block