Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


28 March 2015

Striker still in running for Goal of the Year award

Craig Westcarr is in with a chance of winning the Mitre Goal of the Year prize at next month’s Football League Awards.

The striker’s stunning effort at Yeovil in the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy was selected as one of the 10 best in 2014.

And after a public vote on the Sky Sports website to whittle the list down to five, Westcarr is still in the running.

Also competing for the award are Preston's Joe Garner, Brighton's Rohan Ince, Shrewsbury's Andy Mangan and Bournemouth's Yann Kermorgant.

The winner will be decided on the night at the 2015 Football League Awards.

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the event, which takes place at The Brewery, London on Sunday, April 19.

It could be a double celebration for the Blues, as Conor Chaplin has been shortlisted in the LFE League Two Apprentice of the Year category.

Click here to find out more about the Football League Awards.

Advertisement block