Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


21 January 2016

Cast your vote now!

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2015.

And we want your help to decide which Pompey strike from the past 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We have selected a shortlist of 10 goals to choose from and you can watch them all below.

GOAL 1: Jed Wallace v Carlisle (April 3)
The midfielder cuts inside from the left and lashes an unstoppable shot into the roof of the net.

GOAL 2: Jed Wallace v Plymouth (April 6)
Pompey’s Player of the Season bends a 20-yard shot right into the bottom corner.

GOAL 3: Matt Tubbs v York (May 2)
The prolific striker collects the ball outside the area, turns and arrows a shot into the net.

GOAL 4: Kyle Bennett v Dagenham & Redbridge (August 8)
The debutant collects a pass from Gary Roberts, surges forward and finds the net with a 20-yard strike.

GOAL 5: Gary Roberts v Morecambe (August 22)
The midfielder cuts along the edge of the box before finding the bottom corner with a curling finish.

GOAL 6: Jayden Stockley v Morecambe (August 22)
The on-loan striker secures an unlikely point when he converts Adam Webster’s cross with a diving header.

GOAL 7: Conor Chaplin v Reading (August 25)
The teenager capitalises on a defensive mix-up and shows great composure to score from an acute angle.

GOAL 8: Adam McGurk v Oxford (September 19)
The striker collects a pass and fires home a fierce 30-yard strike.

GOAL 9: Jayden Stockley v Bristol Rovers (September 26)
A flowing passing move is ended by Stockley to secure three points for Pompey.

GOAL 10: Caolan Lavery v Hartlepool (December 12)
The striker collects Marc McNulty’s pass and fires home a fine strike from outside the box.

To vote, email the number of your chosen goal to with the subject ‘Goal Vote’.

You can also tweet @officialpompey, using #Goal1, #Goal2, #Goal3, etc, or leave a comment under the video on our official YouTube channel.

One person who selects the goal with the most votes will be chosen at random to win a copy of Football Manager 2016. Voting closes at 5pm on Sunday, January 31.

The goal that receives the most votes will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the 2016 Football League Awards.

A judging panel will review each club’s choice, with a selection being shown on Channel Five’s Football League Tonight show.

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for which goals make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering awards ceremony in Manchester on Sunday, April 17.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Joe Garner (2014), Franck Moussa (2013), Simon Cox (2012), Peter Whittingham (2011), Dean Furman (2010), Nicky Maynard (2009), Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (2008), Jermaine Beckford (2007), Joe Ledley (2006) and Stefan Oakes (2005).

Advertisement block