Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


20 April 2017

Duo named among the best in League Two

Two Pompey players have been named in The PFA League Two Team of the Year, sponsored by Panini.

Defenders Christian Burgess and Enda Stevens have both been selected by their fellow PFA members.

The duo are joined in the side by a couple of former Blues players, with Plymouth centre-back Sonny Bradley and Doncaster striker John Marquis also chosen.

It is not the only individual recognition Stevens has received this season, as the left-back was also named in the Team of the Season at the EFL Awards earlier this month.

The pair have helped Pompey keep an incredible 18 clean sheets and concede just 38 times in the league – fewer than any other fourth tier side.

Burgess has also chipped in with four goals at the other end of the pitch, while Stevens netted in a crucial victory at Newport on Boxing Day.

PFA League Two Team of the Year
Luke McCormick (Plymouth Argyle); Kelvin Mellor (Blackpool), Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle), Christian Burgess (Pompey), Enda Stevens (Pompey); Nicky Adams (Carlisle United), Luke Berry (Cambridge United), James Coppinger (Doncaster Rovers), Graham Carey (Plymouth Argyle); Danny Hylton (Luton Town), John Marquis (Doncaster Rovers)

The PFA Awards celebrate the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor OBE said: “The PFA Awards are always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar.

“For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers – an honour to be cherished.”

The 44th PFA Awards will be held at Grosvenor House in London on Sunday.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account