Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


1 April 2017

Blues skipper up for goal award

Michael Doyle has made the final five-man shortlist for the Mitre Goal of the Year prize at the EFL Awards.

Blues fans had already voted the midfielder’s stunning strike at Accrington as the club’s best of 2016.

It was then selected as one of the 10 finest from the entire EFL, with a public vote whittling that list down further.

Doyle is up against Barnsley’s Adam Hammill, Brighton’s Steve Sidwell, Bristol City’s Lee Tomlin and Derby’s Darren Bent.

The winner will be decided on the night of the 2017 EFL Awards, which takes place at the London Hilton on Sunday, April 9.

#EFLAwards: @MitreSports Goal of the Year Top 5, as revealed on @Footballon5! ⚽💥

Winner revealed at the ceremony on Sunday 9th April.

— EFL (@EFL) April 1, 2017

Advertisement block