Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


24 February 2017

A selection of stunning strikes

The EFL have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2016.

And we are asking for your help to decide which Pompey strike should be put forward as our nomination.

The club can choose one goal from any EFL competition, which includes League Two, the EFL Cup and the Checkatrade Trophy.

We have selected eight superb strikes from 2016 for you to vote for:

GOAL A: Michael Doyle v Accrington (March 8)
GOAL B: Kal Naismith v Northampton (May 7)
GOAL C: Kal Naismith v Coventry (August 9)
GOAL D: Conor Chaplin v Wycombe (September 10)
GOAL E: Gary Roberts v Barnet (September 24)
GOAL F: Conor Chaplin v Blackpool (September 27)
GOAL G: Danny Rose v Plymouth (October 15)
GOAL H: Kal Naismith v Grimsby (December 10)

You can watch all of the goals on the video at the bottom of the page.

To cast your vote, leave a comment at the bottom of the video on our official YouTube channel, comment underneath the post on our Facebook page or Tweet @officialpompey with your choice.

You can also email, with ‘Goal Award’ as the subject. Please also leave your name and address, as one person who emails in to vote for the most popular goal will win a copy of Football Manager 2017 signed by Paul Cook.

Voting closes at midday on Tuesday, February 28.

The strike receiving the most votes will be entered into the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards on Sunday, April 9 at The Hilton Hotel in Park Lane, London.

A judging panel will review the goals, with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s ‘Football on Five Goal Rush’.

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for which ones make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being selected on the night of the EFL Awards.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have included Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday), Joe Garner (Preston), Franck Moussa (Coventry), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff), Dean Furman (Oldham), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City), Sylvain Ebanks-Blake (Wolves), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds), Joe Ledley (Cardiff) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County).

Click here to find out more information on the EFL Awards.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account