Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Ball Number 10 For Blues

Pompey will discover second round opponents tonight

13 August 2019

Pompey will be ball number 10 in the southern section of this evening’s Carabao Cup second round draw.

It will be broadcast on Sky Sports Football following the conclusion of the opening stage tie between Salford and Leeds.

The 13 Premier League clubs not taking part in European competition will be included in the draw, which is regionalised into southern and northern sections.

Pompey booked their place in the second round for the first time since 2015 after beating Birmingham 3-0 last week.

Southern Section

No. Team
1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Brighton & Hove Albion
3 Cardiff City
4 Crystal Palace
5 Fulham
6 Norwich City
7 Southampton
8 Watford
9 West Ham United
11 Colchester United or Swindon Town
12 AFC Wimbledon or Milton Keynes Dons
13 Oxford United or Peterborough United
14 Queens Park Rangers or Bristol City
15 Plymouth Argyle or Leyton Orient
16 Wycombe Wanderers or Reading
17 Charlton Athletic or Forest Green Rovers
18 Gillingham or Newport County
19 Stevenage v Southend United
20 Luton Town or Ipswich Town
21 Walsall or Crawley Town
22 Bristol Rovers or Cheltenham Town
23 Brenford or Cambridge United
24 Coventry City or Exeter City
25 Swansea City or Northampton Town
26 West Bromwich Albion or Millwall

Northern Section

No. Team
1 Aston Villa
2 Burnley
3 Everton
4 Leicester City
5 Newcastle United
6 Sheffield United
7 Tranmere Rovers or Hull City
8 Grimsby Town or Doncaster Rovers
9 Wigan Athletic or Stoke City
10 Port Vale or Burton Albion
11 Nottingham Forest or Fleetwood Town
12 Bradford City or Preston North End
13 Blackpool or Macclesfield Town
14 Blackburn Rovers or Oldham Athletic
15 Mansfield Town or Morecambe
16 Accrington Stanley or Sunderland
17 Scunthorpe United or Derby County
18 Rochdale or Bolton Wanderers
19 Huddersfield Town or Lincoln City
20 Middlesbrough or Crewe Alexandra
21 Shrewsbury Town or Rotherham United
22 Sheffield Wednesday or Bury
23 Salford City or Leeds United
24 Barnsley or Carlisle United

Second round ties are scheduled to be played in the week commencing August 26.

Advertisement block