Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Invited Clubs Confirmed For EFL Trophy

Liverpool and Manchester United to take part

14 June 2019

The list of invited under-21 teams for next season’s EFL Trophy has been confirmed.

Liverpool and Manchester United’s youngsters are the latest category one academy sides to join the competition for the 2019/20 campaign.

They join current holders Pompey, who beat Sunderland on penalties to lift the trophy at Wembley back in March.

And the Premier League’s top six will be represented for the first time, with Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester City and Tottenham also taking part.

The format of the competition once again sees 16 invited teams joined by the 48 clubs from League One and League Two.

The selection of the invited sides is based on their final league position at the end of the 2018/19 season, with the highest 16 who have category one academy status asked to take part.

Pompey will discover their group stage opponents when the draw takes place in July, while the opening round of fixtures are scheduled to take place in the week commencing September 2.

EFL Trophy invited clubs
Aston Villa
Brighton & Hove Albion
Leicester City
Manchester City
Manchester United
Newcastle United
Norwich City
Tottenham Hotspur
West Ham United
Wolverhampton Wanderers


Advertisement block