Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Pompey Retained List: Summer 2020

Five players have departed Fratton Park

9 July 2020

Portsmouth FC

Portsmouth Football Club can confirm that five players have left the club following the expiration of their contracts.

Christian Burgess, Matt Casey, Oli Hawkins, Adam May and Brett Pitman have all departed.

Burgess – who made 210 appearances and was part of the side that memorably secured the League Two title in 2017 – opted not to extend his Pompey stay and has signed for Belgian outfit Royal Union Saint-Gilloise.

Alex Bass, James Bolton, Andy Cannon, Ben Close, Ronan Curtis, Paul Downing, Gareth Evans, Reeco Hackett-Fairchild, Marcus Harness, Ellis Harrison, Craig MacGillivray, John Marquis, Bryn Morris, Tom Naylor, Duncan Turnbull, Jack Whatmough and Ryan Williams are all still under contract.

The club are in negotiations with defenders Lee Brown and Brandon Haunstrup, whose deals have now expired.

Ross McCrorie, Cameron McGeehan, Sean Raggett and Steve Seddon have returned to their parent clubs following the end of their loan spells and we are grateful to Rangers, Barnsley, Norwich and Birmingham.

Pompey would like to thank all those departing players for their service to the club and wish them well for the future.

Advertisement block