Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Carabao Cup Draws Held On Sunday

Pompey will discover their second round opponents

4 September 2020

The draws for the second and third rounds of the Carabao Cup will take place this Sunday (September 6) live on Sky Sports.

They will be conducted by former Liverpool defender and 1995 EFL Cup winner Phil Babb, following the televised first round clash between Brentford and Wycombe.

The round two draw is unseeded and will remain regionalised, with northern and southern sections.

Upon its conclusion, the round three draw will then take place, with each tie given a number in the order that they came out in the round two draw.

They will then be subject to another unseeded draw on an either/or basis, alongside the seven Premier League clubs competing in Europe who enter at this stage.

Having the draws conducted together will enable the EFL, clubs and broadcasters to plan with additional clarity and certainty over a busy period of fixtures while supporters are unable to attend fixtures.

Joining the Carabao Cup at the round two stage are the 13 Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe – including Everton, West Ham and Wolves – alongside Sky Bet Championship sides Bournemouth and Watford.

The remaining clubs – Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea, Leicester, Tottenham and Arsenal – will join in round three.

Three round one fixtures will be shown live on Sky Sports over the weekend, starting with Barrow making their first appearance in the competition for 48 years with a trip to Championship side Derby in the Saturday 12pm kick-off.

Walsall v Sheffield Wednesday follows at 2.15pm, with Brentford hosting Wycombe in the Sunday 12pm fixture in their first competitive match in their new stadium.

Pompey have already progressed to the second round of the competition with a penalty shoot-out victory at Stevenage.

No. Team
1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Brighton & Hove Albion
3 Bristol City
4 Cambridge United
5 Charlton Athletic
6 Cheltenham Town
7 Coventry City
8 Crystal Palace
9 Fulham
10 Gillingham
11 Ipswich Town
12 Leyton Orient
13 Luton Town
14 Millwall
15 Newport County
16 Northampton Town
17 Oxford United
18 Plymouth Argyle
20 Reading
21 Southampton
22 Watford
23 West Ham United
24 Brentford or Wycombe Wanderers

Advertisement block