Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Pompey To Face AFC Wimbledon And Sutton In Papa John's Trophy

Draw on Thursday to see which invited club joins Southern Group B

23 June 2021

Papa Johns Trophy

Pompey will face AFC Wimbledon and Sutton in the group stages of the 2021/22 Papa John's Trophy.

Danny Cowley's side will face one of the sides at home and the other away in Group B of the Southern Section

They will also be at home to an invited Category One under-21 side, with the draw taking place at 4.30pm on Thursday (June 24) and broadcast live on Sky Sports News.

The invited clubs in the Southern Section of the draw include Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton, Chelsea, Crystal Palace, Southampton, Tottenham and West Ham.

AFC Wimbledon avoided relegation from League One last term, while Pompey have never previously faced Sutton in a competitive fixture.

The Londoners are gearing up for their first campaign as an EFL club after securing the National League title last term.

Papa John's Trophy Southern Section invited clubs

Number Team
1 Arsenal U21
2 Aston Villa U21
3 Brighton & Hove Albion U21
4 Chelsea U21
5 Crystal Palace U21
6 Southampton U21
7 Tottenham Hotspur U21
8 West Ham United U21

Meanwhile, the Carabao Cup first round draw will also be shown live on Sky Sports News at 3.40pm on Thursday.

Pompey – who reached the second round of last season's competition – are ball number 27 in the southern section.

Carbao Cup round one draw numbers

Number Northern Section Southern Section
1 Accrington Stanley AFC Bournemouth
2 Barnsley AFC Wimbledon
3 Barrow Birmingham City
4 Blackburn Rovers Bristol City
5 Blackpool Bristol Rovers
6 Bolton Wanderers Burton Albion
7 Bradford City Cambridge United
8 Carlisle United Cardiff City
9 Crewe Alexandra Charlton Athletic
10 Derby County Cheltenham Town
11 Doncaster Rovers Colchester United
12 Fleetwood Town Coventry City
13 Harrogate Town Crawley Town
14 Hartlepool United Exeter City
15 Huddersfield Town Forest Green Rovers
16 Hull City Gillingham
17 Lincoln City Ipswich Town
18 Mansfield Town Leyton Orient
19 Middlesbrough Luton Town
20 Morecame Millwall
21 Nottingham Forest Milton Keynes Dons
22 Oldham Athletic Newport County
23 Port Vale Northampton Town
24 Preston North End Oxford United
25 Rochdale Peterborough United
26 Rotherham United Plymouth Argyle
27 Salford City POMPEY
28 Scunthorpe United Queens Park Rangers
29 Sheffield United Reading
30 Sheffield Wednesday Stevenage
31 Shrewsbury Town Sutton United
32 Stoke City Swansea City
33 Sunderland Swindon Town
34 Tranmere Rovers Wycombe Wanderers
35 Walsall  
36 Wigan Athletic  


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account