Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Mousinho Scoops LMA Award

22 May 2024

John Mousinho named League One Manager of the Year at the LMA Awards
Club News

Mousinho Scoops LMA Award

22 May 2024

John Mousinho has been named Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year at the LMA (League Managers Association) Awards.

It was further recognition for Pompey's head coach after leading the side to title glory and promotion to the Championship.

The 38-year-old had already picked up a similar accolade at the EFL Awards in London last month.

Manchester City's Pep Guardiola, Ipswich's Kieran McKenna and Stockport's Dave Challinor collected the other divisional awards.

Mousinho was also shortlisted for the overall Manager of the Year prize, along with Guardiola, McKenna, Arsenal's Mikel Arteta, Everton's Sean Dyche and Aston Villa's Unai Emery.

But it was McKenna who walked away with the Sir Alex Ferguson trophy after guiding Ipswich into the top-flight.

Liverpool's Matt Beard was named Barclays Women's Super League Manager of the Year, with Crystal Palace's Laura Kaminski recognised in the Women's Championship.

‍LMA chief executive Richard Bevan OBE said: “The LMA was thrilled to celebrate the excellent seasons of its members throughout professional men's and women's football.

"The association offers its congratulations to Ipswich Town manager Kieran McKenna as the winner of the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for LMA Manager of the Year, as well as the Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year.

"Through their voting, our members also recognised the significant achievements of John Mousinho, Dave Challinor, Laura Kaminski and Matt Beard, all of whom demonstrated their unique qualities as outstanding managers throughout the season.”

Roy Hodgson CBE was awarded the LMA John Duncan Award, presented annually to an individual who has achieved something significant in the game or represents the values of dedication and service to football.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account